Information on:

National Science Center

National Science Center
ATZH-NSC, Building TNG-02, Chamberlain Avenue

The National Science Center (NSC) is a unique partnership between the United States Army and National Science Center, Inc., a non-profit organization. The mission of the NSC is to stimulate interest and increase math and science proficiency of our nationa€,Ms students using the resources of the partnership.

The NSC began operation on Fort Gordon, GA, in 1981 with the establishment of an NSC Army Task Force. The partnership between the Army and the non-profit partner was established by Public Law in 1985. The initial effort of the NSC was the establishment and very successful operation of the Preview Discovery Center, a prototype hands-on exhibit facility located on Fort Gordon. Additionally, in 1993 the NSC-Army staff initiated national educational outreach programs focused on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

In 1997 the group moved just 13 miles to downtown Augusta, GA, to their new home, Fort Discovery. This 128,000-square-foot facility housed a spectacular hands-on exhibit facility as well as served as the headquarters for the STEM national educational outreach programs and NSC staff.

At the end of 2010, the governing body of the NSC decided to focus NSCa€,Ms efforts on STEM national education outreach, which had been a recognized and vital part of the organization since 1993. Therefore, the Fort Discovery facility that had been enjoyed by thousands of visitors over the years closed its doors on 31 December. Moving forward, the NSC will continue to support the youth of the nation with engaging, exciting, and educational STEM outreach programs and activities.

National Science Center is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media
Select a Georgia town to find
the Best Things-To-Do and Places To Go around you
Appling County
Bacon County
Baker County
Ben Hill County
Bibb County
Bleckley County
Candler County
Chattahoochee County
Crisp County
Dawson County
Dougherty County
Echols County
Forsyth County
Glascock County
Hancock County
Heard County
Jeff Davis County
Jenkins County
Johnson County
Jones County
Lincoln County
Long County
Lumpkin County
Marion County
Miller County
Paulding County
Pulaski County
Putnam County
Quitman County
Rockdale County
Schley County
Taliaferro County
Toombs County
Treutlen County
Webster County
Wheeler County